Gordon County voters elect the Judge of the Probate Court for four-year terms.
The Probate Court is responsible for probating wills, appointing guardians of minors and incompetent persons, issuing marriage licenses, and issuing firearm, fireworks, and explosive permits. In addition, this elected office is also responsible for recording birth, death, and marriage certificates as the state appointed custodian of vital records for the county, hearing misdemeanor traffic cases, game and fish cases, and drug cases, and collecting county and state traffic fines.
This elected official also administers oaths to public officers, files, approves, and records bonds of public officers, and administers estate matters.
Please do not hesitate to contact our office for assistance.
Traffic citations may be paid online by calling 800-262-0128, in person, or you may mail a money order or cashier's check to the office mailing address.
P.O. Box 669
Calhoun, GA 30703
Probate Court has exclusive jurisdiction over the probate of wills, administration of estates, temporary guardianships of minors, guardianship and conservatorship over minor and adult wards, and applications for year's support. There are filing fees associated with all petitions and these fees are due upon filing.
Required forms for these procedures and additional information are available online.
Gordon County Probate Court is the custodian of vital records for Gordon County. You may obtain certified copies of birth and death certificates for a fee of $25 for the first copy, and $5 for each additional copy obtained at the same time for the same person. Georgia law dictates who may obtain vital records. (O.C.G.A. 31-10-26)
You may contact the Georgia State Office of Vital Records by telephone 404-679-4702 or online at: dph.georgia.gov for more information regarding the issuance of vital records and to make an online request for these documents.
As of November 2007, local custodians for vital records now have access to birth and death certificates for the entire state of Georgia and may issue copies for other counties.
Weapon Carry License
The Probate Court issues Georgia Weapon Carry Licenses as governed by O.C.G.A. 16-11-126 through 134.
You must be a current resident of Gordon County and provide a valid photo ID that reflects your Gordon County address.
The fee for a New applicant is $80 and a $30 fee for Renewals. The license is valid for 5 years.
Please visit on the link to complete your Weapons Carry License application and then call our office at 706-629-7314. For your next step visit the Georgia Probate Records Website.
The cost for a marriage license is $76.
Each applicant must:
- Be at least (18) years old and provide a valid government-issued ID
- Provide One of the following:
Certified Copy of Birth Certificate OR Social Security Card
- If you have been previously married, you must provide a copy of your divorce decree or death certificate of your last marriage
Please click on the link to complete your Marriage License application and then call our office at 706-629-7314. For your next step visit the Georgia Probate Records Website.
John R (Richie) ParkerProbate Court Judge
Cristina DavisAssociate Probate Court Judge
Probate CourtPhysical Address
Gordon County Government Plaza
215 North Wall Street
Calhoun, GA 30701
Gordon County Government Plaza 215 North Wall Street Calhoun GA 30701
Phone: 706-629-7314Fax: 706-629-4698
Monday through Friday
8:30 am to 5 pm.